ELFQUEST
FORUM ARCHIVE     ABOUT EQ     READ ONLINE     SHOP    
ABOUT     READ     SHOP    

Thornbrake's Fan Art and Other Goodies

Thornbrake

Like so many of us, as a child I was inspired by Elfquest to pick up pencil and paper and teach myself to draw. My first attempts were very earnest, but as you'll see, I had a long way to go. I studied Wendy's art and with that as a foundation, I went on to get formal training and art remains a hobby for me today, almost 30 years later.

This is a thread to share some of my Elfquest fan art.

Thornbrake

One of my first attempts at drawing Cutter. I was about 10 years old. What is up with those hips, lol?!

EQ Cutter 86

Heather

That is so cute! I love it!

Thornbrake

This one is a Wolfrider hunt, drawn just before the Siege at Blue Mountain series kicked off. Note what I thought Windkin would look like!

EQ Wolfrider Hunt 86

MrsGrizzley

Well, since you were 10 years old at the time, I guess that negates the comment I was going to make about not being the ONLY one to have issues with drawing by hand... that's pretty good for a 10 year old.

Looking forward to seeing more of your work!

Thornbrake

This is another one from early 1986. In what can only be considered an example of the collective consciousness, this beast was supposed to be a magically mutated wolf that was shapechanged by Winnowill to hunt down and kill Wolfriders. Peace Hounds, anyone? I'm not making this up!

EQ peace hound 86

Heather

You were tuned in @Thornbrake! Fantastic!

Thornbrake

MrsGrizzley said: that's pretty good for a 10 year old.

Thanks @MrsGrizzley! I spent A LOT of time practicing. Sometimes copying Wendy's art, but more often studying and picking up techniques.

Thornbrake

Here's one from when I was around 11. As a typical boy, I was obsessed with the battle scenes and thought the troll ambush battle was awesome. I drew many scenes from that battle. Here's one of them.

EQ snow fight 87

Thornbrake