ELFQUEST
FORUM ARCHIVE     ABOUT EQ     READ ONLINE     SHOP    
ABOUT     READ     SHOP    

Gliders' Birds Really DID Exist!

Thornbrake

Well, looks like there's a real-life candidate for the Gliders' giant birds. Check out the latest new reports about the extinct Pelagornis sandersi, described as a giant condor-like bird with a 21 foot wingspan.

Check out this size comparison from linked article above:

Giant Bird

That is certainly big enough to carry a light, willowy Glider!

Night_Tanem

Such big wingspan and yet only that weight. In my case it's the other way around =))
Still you'll have to have some more patience because the head is more that of a seagull while it should be more like an eagle. Getting close though...

Sadachbia

Aww, nothing about Argentavis? That was pretty big too.

As an informal biologist, I'd love to know what order (or even family, if that's knowable) P. sandersi belonged to. "Condor-like" doesn't tell me much beyond "could have been a member of Ciconiiformes, but not necessarily". (Ciconiiformes is the order that storks, condors, and vultures belong to; hawks, eagles, falcons, etc. belong to a different order, Falconiformes. Sometimes the scavenger-birds and the Falconiform birds are grouped together under Accipitriformes, but DNA analysis shows falcons may be more closely related to parrots than to hawks and eagles. If anyone cares…)

A quick jaunt to Wikipedia tells me that the genus Pelagornis was probably related to either storks or pelicans, but those are different orders (Ciconiiformes vs. Pelecaniformes). The genus Argentavis doesn't have a definitive placement.