ELFQUEST
FORUM ARCHIVE     ABOUT EQ     READ ONLINE     SHOP    
ABOUT     READ     SHOP    

Elfquest Chocolates

Heather

I'm no artist with ink and paper or brush and canvas, but I do enjoy working with chocolate. I created a few Elfquest chocolate molds. 1800480_10151988760983882_852641710_n
I fashioned the Madcoil from the Ral Partha minifig. Unfortunately, like Cutter, the scale is too small to avoid excessive air bubbles. The solution will be to make a new sculpture from scratch that is slighter bigger but still on model.
1621726_10151985033158882_53944804_n
Cutter had the same issues, but also had issues with his legs, as they are far to fragile when coming out of the mold. His solution is the same as Madcoil
1546451_10151901789728882_1772422239_n
Bearclaw's wolfhead necklace came out the best. And the best thing about edible paint is how awesome it makes food look and doesn't ruin the taste!

Tavie

Ooh, I'm glad the chocolates get their own thread! I LOVE these - you are a true artiste!

Thornbrake

OMG Cutter looks like his face is just a skull with no nose. ZOMBIE Cutter!

zurcdurka

I was thinking the same thing. It looks like part of his cheek is missing and some teeth are showing. I like it.

Heather

@Thornbrake and @zurcdurka I know! He looked like a Zombie when he came out and I was just laughing. Unfortunately, it is the size. You can't get the air bubbles out as effectively, with such a detailed piece. I even did more than one coat and shook before placing my two mold pieces together. I either need to create one the same size with a more rustic feel, that allows for the look to work, or create a new model. I will probably work on the latter this summer when I have more free time.

@Tavie Thank you so much. While I have worked in the world of chocolate for four years now, I am really just starting to branch out into making my own molds. It's proving rewarding, frustrating and a learning adventure with each thing I make.

MrsGrizzley

*blinkblink*